Featured Editorials NFL News

C.J. Mosley Nominated For 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

CJ Mosley

C.J. Mosley is the NY Jets Nominee for the 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Full press release from the NFL is below.

32 Players Nominated For 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Winner to be revealed as part of NFL Honors before Super Bowl LVI

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient LARRY FITZGERALD, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTIN and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote later this month.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.


Team Player   Team Player
Arizona Cardinals Budda Baker   Las Vegas Raiders Derek Carr
Atlanta Falcons Jake Matthews   Los Angeles Chargers Derwin James
Baltimore Ravens Lamar Jackson   Los Angeles Rams Jordan Fuller
Buffalo Bills Josh Allen   Miami Dolphins Jason McCourty
Carolina Panthers Frankie Luvu   Minnesota Vikings Adam Thielen
Chicago Bears Roquan Smith   New England Patriots Matthew Slater
Cincinnati Bengals Stanley Morgan   New Orleans Saints Cameron Jordan
Cleveland Browns Nick Chubb   New York Giants James Bradberry
Dallas Cowboys Dak Prescott   New York Jets C.J. Mosley
Denver Broncos Pat Surtain II   Philadelphia Eagles Darius Slay
Detroit Lions Jamaal Williams   Pittsburgh Steelers Ben Roethlisberger
Green Bay Packers Aaron Jones   San Francisco 49ers Kyle Juszczyk
Houston Texans Brandin Cooks   Seattle Seahawks Tyler Lockett
Indianapolis Colts DeForest Buckner   Tampa Bay Buccaneers Lavonte David
Jacksonville Jaguars Shaquill Griffin   Tennessee Titans Derrick Henry
Kansas City Chiefs Patrick Mahomes   Washington Football Team Landon Collins

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.


Year Player Team
2020 QB Teddy Bridgewater Carolina Panthers
2019 RB Adrian Peterson Washington Football Team
2018 QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
2017 LB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
2016 RB Frank Gore Indianapolis Colts
2015 CB Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders
2014 WR Larry Fitzgerald Arizona Cardinals

This Article Was Written By Phil Sullivan

Phil Sullivan

I started JetNation in 2005 and have been a New York Jets season ticket holder since graduating from high school. My dream is to see the New York Jets win the Super Bowl. Until then, I will be right here on JetNation writing, dreaming and talking NY Jets football.


NY Jets Videos