Frank Barone

Mid Season Awards – NFC

By Frank Barone
Jetnation Columnist

NFC Coach of the Year
Tom Coughlin – Giants
The Giants are 6 – 2 and are tied for best record in the entire NFC. They have already matched their win total for all of last year. Eli Manning and the offense have led the turnaround.

Shaun Alexander – Seahawks
Quietly in the NFC West, Alexander has led Seattle to a tie for the best record in the NFC.

Offensive Player of the Year
Shaun Alexander – Seahawks
Alexander has proven that he deserves that new contract from the Seahawks.

Defensive Player of the Year
Brian Urlacher, Bears
Urlacher is rejuvenated this year and is leading the Bears defense, which is as good as any unit in the league.

Comeback Player of the Year
Tie (Mark Brunell – Redskins & Steve Smith – Panthers)
Mark Brunell – Redskins
Brunell has revived his career this year and has given the Redskins a QB again.

Steve Smith – Panthers
Smith is, yet another player, coming off a severe injury and playing at a top level again.

Breakout Player of the Year
Eli Manning – Giants
Manning now has the offensive weapons and offensive line for support and is proving the draft day trade by the Giants a success.

Surprise Player of the Year
Thomas Jones – Bears
Jones has rushed for over 800 yards and is keeping top draft pick Cedric Benson on the bench.

Bust of the Year
Joey Harrington – Lions
Given multiple chances, Harrington has failed to find any consistency.

Rookie Offensive Player of the Year
Carnell Williams -Buccaneers
Williams is leading the Bucs in rushing even with an unsettled QB position for them.

Rookie Defensive Player of the Year
Demarcus Ware – Cowboys
Ware gives the Cowboys a pass rush threat they have been missing the last couple of years.

You can discuss this in our forums: Forums

This Article Was Written By Admin



NY Jets Videos